Last updated: October 22, 2026
Humboldt Seed Company is a cannabis breeder from Humboldt County in Northern California, founded in 2001, that sells its own seeds to US customers through its online shop at californiahempseeds.com. It only sells its own genetics: mostly feminized photoperiods, plus autoflowers, a few triploids and bulk packs of 100 and 1,000 seeds. Our verdict: a long-running, licensed California breeder with well-liked genetics, but as a place to buy seeds it is average, with US-only shipping that excludes several states, orders that typically ship within 10 business days of payment (longer in peak seasons), a high $200 free-shipping threshold and a case-by-case replacement program instead of a fixed guarantee. We score it 6.1/10.
This review is based on Humboldt Seed Company’s published policies, current prices in its shop and independent customer feedback. All facts were checked on October 22, 2026. We did not place an order.
Humboldt Seed Company at a Glance
| Item | Details |
|---|---|
| Based in / owner entity | Humboldt County, California. The brand site names Sustainable Medicinals DBA Humboldt Seed Company; the shop’s policies are issued by “Humboldt Seed Company / Two Snakes Seed”. |
| Ships to | US: yes, except Idaho, Colorado and Wyoming according to the shipping policy. Canada, UK, Australia: no. EU: through a separate Spanish shop (humboldtseedcompany.es). |
| Ships from | Not stated in the shipping policy; the company is based in Northern California |
| Shipping cost | US: free on orders above $200; a $12.99 flat rate below that in our cart test |
| Delivery time | Orders typically ship within 10 business days of payment; transit times are not stated |
| Payment methods | Credit or debit card (one card gateway at checkout); we found no PayPal or crypto option |
| Germination guarantee | No fixed percentage: case-by-case replacement within 3 months, photos required, $9.99 fee |
| Seed types | Feminized, autoflower, triploid, CBD hemp, one regular listing (out of stock) |
| Price per seed | $15.00 (3-pack) to $5.00 (1,000 seeds) for standard strains; for example Amnesia Jelly Autoflower at $45 for 3 seeds |
| Facts checked | October 22, 2026 |
Buying From Humboldt Seed Company in the USA
Humboldt Seed Company runs two websites. The brand site, humboldtseedcompany.com, shows the strain catalog, a retailer finder and a wholesale page, but it has no cart. Its “Shop US” menu sends you to californiahempseeds.com, where you can actually order. The shop’s terms and conditions, shipping policy and return policy are all issued in the name of “Humboldt Seed Company / Two Snakes Seed”, and the support address is an @humboldtseedcompany.com email, so this is the breeder’s own store rather than a reseller.
The shop is US-only and does not cover every state. The shipping policy says it cannot ship to Idaho, Colorado and Wyoming, while the banner on every page mentions only Idaho. In our cart test on October 22, 2026, the checkout rejected an Idaho address but still quoted a shipping rate for Colorado and Wyoming addresses. If you live in Colorado or Wyoming, ask support before you pay. Seeds are also sold in licensed dispensaries; the brand site has a retailer finder.
Do not confuse Humboldt Seed Company with Humboldt Seed Organisation, a different breeder that SeedFinder lists as a separate company. This review covers only the California company.
Who Humboldt Seed Company Is
According to its About page, Humboldt Seed Company was founded in 2001 by biologists in Humboldt County, first breeding for patients under California’s Prop. 215 medical program and later for the recreational market. The company runs yearly phenotype hunts with California farmers and calls itself “the largest licensed cannabis seed provider in California”, which is its own claim. Wikipedia also gives 2001 as the founding year and notes the company’s 2022 scratch-and-sniff packaging.
The legal name behind the brand is Sustainable Medicinals: the footer of the brand site holds buyers to indemnify “Sustainable Medicinals DBA Humboldt seed Company”. California cannabis license records, as shown in a third-party lookup of state license data, list an active nursery license for Sustainable Medicinals in Humboldt County (issued 2019, expiring June 2027), with a Humboldt Seed Company distributor license listed as associated.
Since 2019 the company has worked with the Yurok Agricultural Corporation, owned by the Yurok Tribe, on its genetics and on the Two Snakes Seed hemp brand. The Two Snakes Seed About page describes the 2019 partnership and links to the same shop. In July 2025, the company supplied seeds that were sold for a penny at the California State Fair’s cannabis exhibit, as CBS Sacramento reported on July 16, 2025.
Catalog and Seed Types
Because the shop sells only Humboldt Seed Company genetics, the range is narrower than at a multi-breeder seedbank. On October 22, 2026 the shop had about 110 cannabis seed listings, of which 86 were in stock. Most are feminized photoperiods; 32 listings are autoflowers, 3 are triploids, 3 are CBD hemp strains and 1 is a regular-seed pack, which was out of stock. The shop also sells 8 kinds of garden seeds (such as calendula and tomato) and apparel.
Well-known names include Blueberry Muffin, Jelly Donutz, Hella Jelly, Humboldt Dream, Chicken n’ Wafflez and classics such as Trainwreck and OG Kush, plus licensed collections with Bob Marley and Slightly Stoopid branding. The shop’s filters sort strains by flavor, effect, THC band, yield, mold resistance and new releases (2025 and 2026 lines). Triploids are bred to be seedless; the company sells them at roughly double the standard price. If you are deciding between seed types, our guide to feminized vs autoflower vs regular seeds explains the trade-offs.
The site’s FAQ lists its own picks for highest yield, earliest finish, highest THC, mold resistance and beginner-friendliness, and says the company expects “at least a 98% germination”. That is its own expectation, not a guarantee.
Prices and Pack Sizes
Pricing is simple and uniform: almost every standard strain costs the same, whatever its name. These are the prices in the shop on October 22, 2026:
| Pack | Standard strains | Bob Marley collection | Triploid (California Octane) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 3 seeds | $45 ($15.00/seed) | $58 ($19.33/seed) | $90 ($30.00/seed), out of stock |
| 5 seeds | $70 ($14.00/seed) | $91 ($18.20/seed) | $140 ($28.00/seed) |
| 10 seeds | $120 ($12.00/seed) | $156 ($15.60/seed) | Not listed |
| 100 seeds | $750 ($7.50/seed) | Not listed | Not listed |
| 1,000 seeds | $5,000 ($5.00/seed) | Not listed | Not listed |
Examples: Amnesia Jelly Autoflower costs $45, $70 or $120 for 3, 5 or 10 seeds, and Bob Marley One Love Sativa costs $58, $91 or $156. Not every strain offers every size, and some sizes are marked out of stock. The 100 and 1,000 seed packs are aimed at larger growers and commercial buyers.
Shipping adds $12.99 to orders of $200 or less, so a single 3-pack costs $57.99 before tax. In our cart test, sales tax was added for a California delivery address. All seed sales are final: the return policy says the company does “not accept returns or issue refunds under any circumstances”.
Shipping by Region
United States. The shipping policy says orders “typically ship within 10 business days from receipt of payment”, and longer during peak seasons and holidays. It does not name a carrier, a dispatch location or transit times; once a parcel is handed to the carrier, delivery dates are “estimates only”. The banner on every page offers free shipping on orders above $200. In our cart test on October 22, 2026, a $45 order was quoted a $12.99 flat rate to addresses in California, Oregon and New York, and a $285 order shipped free. Risk of loss passes to the buyer when the parcel is handed to the carrier, and the policy asks you to contact the carrier first if a parcel is delayed, lost or damaged. We found no statement on discreet packaging or tracking in the published policies.
Excluded states. The shipping policy excludes Idaho, Colorado and Wyoming. The site banner mentions only Idaho, and the cart still quoted rates for Colorado and Wyoming, so confirm with support if you live there.
Canada, UK and Australia. The US shop returned no shipping options for Canadian, UK or Australian addresses in our cart test. The company says its seeds are sold through partners in several countries, including Canada and the UK, but not from this shop.
European Union. EU buyers are served by a separate shop at humboldtseedcompany.es, which names Viridivia Group SL in its disclaimer and lists the 27 EU member states as its shipping countries. On October 22, 2026 it showed a 3-pack of Jelly Donutz at 35 euros including VAT. This review focuses on the US shop.
Shipping to the US does not make growing legal everywhere. Seed and cultivation laws differ by state, and the federal hemp definition is changing in stages between November 12 and December 11, 2026 (P.L. 119-37, section 781, as amended by P.L. 119-103), which may affect how cannabis seeds can be sold and shipped (Congressional Research Service summary). Check your state and local rules before you order.
Germination Guarantee: The Exact Terms
The brand site advertises a “seed germination guarantee”, but the binding terms in the return policy describe a discretionary seed replacement program, not a guarantee with a fixed rate:
- What is offered: the company is “willing to discuss a seed replacement on a case-by-case basis” if you have problems with seed viability. No germination percentage is promised.
- Deadline: requests must be submitted within 3 months of the purchase date; later requests are not considered.
- Evidence: proof of purchase (order number, or the original receipt for dispensary purchases), clear photos of all non-viable seeds and, where possible, of the germination attempt, plus the purchase date.
- Cost: a restock and shipping fee of $9.99 per replacement, paid before replacement seeds are sent.
- Limits: replacements are at the company’s discretion, a comparable strain may be substituted if yours is unavailable, replacement packs cannot be replaced again, and requests can be refused, for example for unclear photos.
- Process: use the replacement request form; the page says to email the company if you hear nothing within 7 days.
Seeds bought from licensed dispensaries are also eligible, with the dispensary receipt as proof. Because the terms promise no rate and add a $9.99 fee, photograph your seeds and germination attempt from the start.
Payment Methods
The checkout offers a single card payment gateway. The terms say the company may preauthorize “your credit or debit card” when you order or charge it when the order ships. We found no PayPal, crypto, bank transfer or cash option in the checkout, and the card gateway at checkout shows Visa, Mastercard, American Express and Discover (checked Oct 22, 2026).
Deals, Loyalty and Discount Codes
As of October 2026, these were the ways to pay less:
- Sign-up offer: the shop footer says “Sign Up and Save 10% on Your First Order Over $100!”
- Sales: on October 22, 2026 several strains were discounted, such as Fortune Cookie Feminized with a “40% OFF 10’s” option at $72 instead of $120 for 10 seeds ($7.20 a seed).
- Seasonal deals: the shop runs promotions such as a “BOGO Moms” category and a 4/20 buy-one-get-one deal that one Reddit buyer mentioned in April 2026.
- Rules: the footer says promotions cannot be combined, there is a limit of one freebie or promo code per customer, and deals can change without notice.
We found no public discount code and no loyalty or points program on the shop. Treat codes on third-party coupon sites with caution.
Customer Service
Support runs through forms and email only. The contact page has separate routes for pre-purchase questions, wholesale and replacement requests, and warns that “it may take several days to receive a reply via email”. The pre-purchase form promises a reply within 5 business days. The policy pages give [email protected] as the email address. We found no phone number, live chat or street address on the shop or the brand site.
We found no Better Business Bureau, SmartCustomer or Reviews.io profile for Humboldt Seed Company, so we could not check a public complaint record.
Reputation
GrowDiaries. Humboldt Seed Company is one of the more documented breeders on GrowDiaries, with a rating of 8.9, more than 1,000 grow diaries and over 600 harvests (checked October 22, 2026). Recent reviews there mostly praise aroma, flavor and easy growing; some growers report airy buds or low yields on certain strains, and one reported a Chicken n’ Wafflez plant that turned hermaphrodite.
Reddit. Growers discuss the brand often, mostly about the genetics rather than the shop:
- “Are Humboldt Seed Company’s Autos good?” (r/Autoflowers, November 21, 2025): most replies are positive about strains such as Jelly Donutz, Humboldt Dream and Durban Poison, one grower called the seeds “almost idiot proof”, while another reported that most of the few seeds they tried did not germinate.
- “Hella Jelly auto by Humboldt” (r/Autoflowers, February 20, 2026): opinions are split, from a grower who ran five Humboldt feminized strains and called the breeder one of the best, to users who prefer other autoflower breeders.
- “bought Humboldt for the first time” (r/Autoflowers, April 21, 2026): a buyer who ordered Hella Jelly Auto from the shop during a 4/20 BOGO deal; replies call it one of the brand’s best plants.
These are individual reports that we cannot verify. The pattern is a well-regarded breeder with some strain-to-strain variation, and very little public discussion of the shop’s shipping or support.
Website and Grow Resources
The shop is a clean WooCommerce store with useful strain filters by flavor, effect, potency and resistance, and the brand site adds a blog, a press page and a downloadable seed catalog. The weak spots are the split between two domains, policies that say nothing about carrier, tracking or packaging, a guarantee badge that the return policy does not back with a rate, and the mismatch between the Idaho-only banner and the three excluded states in the shipping policy. For growing basics, our guides on how to grow cannabis at home and autoflower vs photoperiod cover the essentials.
Who Humboldt Seed Company Suits, and Who Should Look Elsewhere
A good fit if you: live in a US state the shop serves and want original Humboldt Seed Company genetics straight from the breeder; want bulk feminized packs of 100 or 1,000 seeds; are not in a hurry; or buy from California dispensaries and want the same replacement program.
Look elsewhere if you: live in Idaho, Colorado, Wyoming or outside the US (EU buyers can use the Spanish shop); want fast dispatch with a stated carrier and tracking; want a written germination guarantee with a fixed rate; want to pay with PayPal or crypto; or want strains from many breeders in one order.
Scoring Summary
| Category | Score |
|---|---|
| Seed Quality and Germination | 7.0/10 |
| Shipping and Delivery | 5.5/10 |
| Customer Service | 5.5/10 |
| Product Range | 6.5/10 |
| Price and Value | 5.5/10 |
| Website and UX | 6.0/10 |
| Overall | 6.1/10 |
Humboldt Seed Company scores 6.1/10 overall. Seed Quality and Germination is its best category at 7.0/10: a breeder active since 2001 with licensed California production and a strong GrowDiaries record, held back by a replacement program with no fixed rate, a $9.99 fee and some mixed grower reports. Product Range earns 6.5/10 for about 110 in-house listings, autoflowers, triploids and rare bulk packs, but only one breeder and almost no regular seeds. Website and UX gets 6.0/10 for a clear, well-filtered shop with thin and partly inconsistent policies.
Shipping and Delivery scores 5.5/10: US-only, three excluded states, orders that typically ship within 10 business days and can take longer, no stated carrier or tracking and $12.99 shipping up to $200. Customer Service also scores 5.5/10, with forms and email only and reply times of several days. Price and Value sits at 5.5/10: $15 a seed in 3-packs is high, while 10-packs, sales and bulk packs bring the price down.
How Does Humboldt Seed Company Compare?
| Seedbank | Our score | Germination guarantee | Shipping to the US | Loyalty and deals | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Humboldt Seed Company | 6.1/10 | Case-by-case replacement, 3 months, $9.99 fee | Free over $200, else $12.99; not to ID, CO, WY | None listed; 10% off first order over $100 | US growers who want Humboldt genetics direct, including bulk packs |
| Seeds Here Now | 6.7/10 | Store credit for failed seeds; you pay reshipping | $9.88, free over $100, ships from US; seeds until Dec | SHN Rewards: 1 point per $10, 1 point = $1 | US buyers of craft breeder packs and clones, before Dec 2026 |
| The Seed Connect | 6.5/10 | 90% on paid seeds, 30 days, $6.99 per claim | Free from $99, else $6.99, USPS from Arizona | Seed Points (5% back), tiers up to Harvest VIP | US growers who want fast domestic shipping and local support |
| DNA Genetics | 5.8/10 | Like-for-like replacement, no published terms | $7.99, free from about $100, ships from California | DNA Points (10% back), status unclear | US growers buying Kosher Kush, Chocolope or Tangie direct from DNA |
| Homegrown Cannabis Co. | 6.4/10 | 120 days, paper towel method, photo proof, 1 claim | Free over $99 ($12.99 below), US only, no international | Homegrown Stash points (expire after 12 months) | US growers buying 8+ seeds of house-brand genetics |
Scores and details come from each seedbank's own review on this site and update when that review is re-checked.
For other options, see our reviews of Seeds Here Now, The Seed Connect, DNA Genetics and Homegrown Cannabis Co.
Final Verdict
Humboldt Seed Company is a real, long-running California breeder: founded in 2001, operating under Sustainable Medicinals with an active state nursery license, partnered with the Yurok Agricultural Corporation, and still releasing new strains in 2026. Its own shop is the most direct way for US growers to get its genetics, including bulk packs of 100 and 1,000 seeds.
As a store, it is basic. Shipping is US-only with three excluded states, orders typically ship within 10 business days and can take longer in peak seasons, the policies name no carrier or tracking, and the advertised germination guarantee is in practice a discretionary replacement with a $9.99 fee. If you want Humboldt genetics specifically and can wait, buying direct is a sound choice; if speed, payment options or a firm guarantee matter more, compare it with the alternatives in our seedbank review hub.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Humboldt Seed Company based, and who owns it?
Humboldt Seed Company is based in Humboldt County, California, and was founded in 2001. Its brand site names Sustainable Medicinals DBA Humboldt Seed Company as the legal entity, and the shop’s policies are issued by Humboldt Seed Company / Two Snakes Seed.
Does Humboldt Seed Company ship to the USA?
Yes. Its online shop at californiahempseeds.com ships within the US, except to Idaho, Colorado and Wyoming according to its shipping policy. Seed and cultivation laws differ by state, so check your local rules before you order.
How long does Humboldt Seed Company take to ship?
The shipping policy says orders typically ship within 10 business days of payment, longer in peak seasons. It does not state transit times or the carrier.
Where does Humboldt Seed Company ship from?
The shipping policy does not name a dispatch location. The company is based in Northern California and ships US orders only; EU orders go through a separate Spanish shop.
What happened to Humboldt Seed Company?
It is still operating. As of October 2026 the brand site lists a 2026 strain lineup, and online orders for US customers go through its shop at californiahempseeds.com, linked from the brand site’s “Shop US” menu.
Is Humboldt Seed Company legit?
Yes, it is an established breeder: founded in 2001, linked to an active California nursery license held by Sustainable Medicinals, rated 8.9 on GrowDiaries with more than 1,000 grow diaries, and covered by CBS Sacramento in 2025. Some growers on Reddit report germination problems or strain variation.
Does Humboldt Seed Company have a germination guarantee?
Not with a fixed rate. Its return policy offers seed replacements case by case within 3 months of purchase, with proof of purchase and photos required and a $9.99 restock and shipping fee. The FAQ says the company expects at least 98% germination.
What payment methods does Humboldt Seed Company accept?
The checkout takes credit or debit cards through a single card gateway. We found no PayPal, crypto or bank transfer option.
Is there a Humboldt Seed Company promo code?
We found no public promo code on October 22, 2026. The shop offers 10% off a first order over $100 when you sign up, runs strain sales such as 40% off certain 10-packs, and allows one freebie or promo code per customer.
Sources
- Humboldt Seed Company brand site (checked Oct 22, 2026): Shop US and Shop EU links, Sustainable Medicinals DBA Humboldt Seed Company, guarantee badge, 2026 lineup, retailer finder
- Humboldt Seed Company shop (californiahempseeds.com) (checked Oct 22, 2026): free shipping above $200, Idaho banner, sign-up offer, promotion rules, catalog, prices and pack sizes, cart test of shipping rates, tax and payment gateway
- Shipping policy (checked Oct 22, 2026): orders typically ship within 10 business days, excluded states, risk of loss
- Return policy (checked Oct 22, 2026): final sales, seed replacement program terms, $9.99 fee, 3-month window
- Replacement request page (checked Oct 22, 2026): photo required, 3-month eligibility, 7-day follow-up
- Terms and conditions (checked Oct 22, 2026): Humboldt Seed Company / Two Snakes Seed, card payment, age 18, contact email
- Contact page and pre-purchase form (checked Oct 22, 2026): support channels and reply times
- FAQ (checked Oct 22, 2026): expected 98% germination, strain recommendations
- About page (checked Oct 22, 2026): founded 2001, Prop. 215 history, Yurok Agricultural Corporation partnership, countries where seeds are sold
- Amnesia Jelly Autoflower and Bob Marley One Love Sativa product pages (checked Oct 22, 2026): pack sizes and prices
- Two Snakes Seed About page (checked Oct 22, 2026): 2019 Yurok partnership, links to the same shop
- Humboldt Seed Company EU shop shipping page (checked Oct 22, 2026): lists the 27 EU member states as shipping countries, Viridivia Group SL
- License lookup CCL18-0000267 (checked Oct 22, 2026): active nursery license for Sustainable Medicinals, Humboldt County, associated Humboldt Seed Company license
- Wikipedia: Humboldt Seed Company (checked Oct 22, 2026): founding year, 2022 packaging
- CBS Sacramento, July 16, 2025 (checked Oct 22, 2026): seeds sold for a penny at the California State Fair
- GrowDiaries breeder page (checked Oct 22, 2026): 8.9 rating, diaries, harvests and review themes
- r/Autoflowers thread of November 21, 2025, thread of February 20, 2026 and thread of April 21, 2026 (checked Oct 22, 2026): grower feedback on genetics, germination and a 4/20 BOGO purchase
- SeedFinder: Humboldt Seed Organisation (checked Oct 22, 2026): listed as a separate breeder from Humboldt Seed Company
- Congressional Research Service, IF13136 (checked Oct 22, 2026): federal hemp definition changes in 2026




